So the "ball and chain" (j.k. - Love Ya Honey!) and I are driving down the road the other day and we come upon this ragtop Jeep with a Harley sticker and a NASCAR sticker on its rear. The B&C says "you all could be twins". As we get up next to this guy I look over and the first thing to go through my mind is "what an complete redneck". (Was that bad of me? Was I stereotyping?). So I say to the 'ole B&C "well at least I don't look like that, he's a real redneck." To which she responds "you look just like that." She proceeds to point out that he has a NASCAR baseball hat on, sunglasses appropriately balanced on the brim. Sleeveless shirt with requsit tattoo showing, etc.DEVASTATING (not that there is anything wrong with being a redneck I just never really thought I gave off the redneck vibe). We were on our way to breakfast so we continued this redneck discussion through our meal. Every person that walked by we evaluated on the redneck scale and what I noticed is that all the guys that she thought were NOT rednecks had collared polos, khaki cargo shorts and some fancy brand of flip flop (not the cheap rubber kind you get at Wal*Mart). My off hours attire tends toward tee shirts, usually with some logo on them. As soon as I dropped her off back at the ranch I made a beeline for the outlets to get as many polo shirts as I could. I didn't buy any shorts as I am hoping the waistline reduces dramaticlly here soon and besides, I already own 3 pairs of cargo shorts (1 grey, 2 khaki). Sorry, but NO WAY am I going to wear flip flops. Now I have enough polos that I am retiring most of my collection of Harley t-shirts.
But all of this got me thinking, what really is a redneck? What makes one a redneck or not? So here goes, me in a nutshell and you can decide for yourself, Redneck or No Redneck.
I love country music. If you told me I was going to a deserted island and I had to take just one album (I know I am dating myself there) I would probably take one from Garth Brooks, Kenny Chesney or Toby Keith. But I also like late 60's music (The Doors, Motown). I like classic rock (Aerosmith). I like blues (Keb Mo'). I'd say I have quite a diverse taste in music (ask the poker gang) but country is certainly the first choice.
I ride a Harley. Second to my wife and kids I love my Harley more than just about anything in this world. There is nothing better than taking off for the mountains on a cool Sept afternoon and getting 4-5 hours in the saddle. Might be better than sex (can't do that for 4-5 hours).
I bowl. I watch NASCAR (religiously). I play on a billiards team.
I have a tattoo. But its not on my ass, its hidden when I am at work and its a tribute to my deceased uncle who committed suicide and I happened to be the one that found him (BTW, he died 3 years ago Sunday, I miss my Uncle Bill).
I am a gun nut...uuummm... supporter of our 2nd amendment rights. (I really hate it when the liberal media describes law abiding gun owners as "nuts".)
I've never lived in a home that was or could be mobile. I never had nor thought about sexual
relations with any family member or animal. I know the nut cracker is not something you do off the high dive (its those red statues my wife puts out at Xmas right?). I've never skinned an animal (or even hunted one for that matter). I've never been to a Ho' Down (though I have been to a rodeo). I know Taco Bell is not the Mexican phone company. There is no rebel flag anywhere in my home. My school fight song was not "Dueling Banjos" (close, I think it was Freebird). All of my cars are in working order and have current registration. I've never said "Hey fellas watch this" and ended up in the hospital.So what makes a redneck? And do I qualify? But most importantly should I care? I am happy, healthy, have a wonderful family (sorry about that ball and chain comment again Hun) and really don't think I would change one thing about my life.
Good thing I kept the receipt for those polos as I just drug all the t-shirts back out. Time to git to bowling and I really hope Jeff Gordon wins the Sprint Cup this year.



